Going somewhere else?

Crans Montana

Crans-Montana est une grande station de ski à la clientèle haut-de-gamme créée il y a plus de cent ans. Le domaine skiable très étendu s’accompagne d’une ambiance animée, avec de nombreuses activités sportives et une vie nocturne mouvementée. Enfin, six lacs attenants et une nature incroyable constituent la cerise sur le gateau : Crans Montana a définitivement tout pour plaire.

Carte des chalets à Crans Montana

Introduction

Perchée sur les hauteurs suisses

Crans-Montana est une station de ski surprenante située au coeur des Alpes, au sud-ouest de la Suisse, et qui domine les cantons de Valais et Weisshorn. Les deux centres de Crans et Montana ont fusionné pour devenir la station de Crans-Montana, qui appartient à six municipalités: Icogne, Mollens, Lens, Chermignon, Randogne, and Montana.

Pour les fondus de sport

Le domaine skiable est composé de 140 km de pistes dont le point culminant  Plaine Morte (2,927m). Grâce à des remontées mécaniques récemment rénovées, le domaine skiable et les stations environnantes sont faciles d’accès et il y a peu de files d’attente. Faire du golf en été, c’est possible sur le plus haut parcours de golf au monde!

Détendez vous

Pour les dépensiers, la station possède des boutiques parmi les plus luxueuses des Alpes. Si vous êtes venu en gastronome, il y a pléthore de choix. Enfin, pour ceux qui aiment faire la fête, Crans-Montana accueille de nombreux DJs, vous êtes sûr de trouver le lieu qui vous convient pour sortir.

Histoire

Au tout début … un hôtel

Crans-Montana a été fondée il y a plus de cent ans et s’est developpée principalement grâce à quatre activités : le golf, le ski, la santé et l’hôtellerie. En 1893, des hôteliers valaisan et sierrois, Louis Antille and Michel Zufferey, ouvrent l’Hôtel du Parc, le premier dans les environs. Grâce à ces passionés, une destination touristique majeure était créée.

Le coup de foudre

Théodore Stephani, un docteur genevois, tombé amoureux de la région décida d’y faire venir ses patients. Il aimait particulièrement la beauté et l’air frais de Crans-Montana. En 1896, il ouvrit la première route pour véhicules motorisés et seulement trois ans plus tard il créa le premier hôpital des environs, Beauregard. A la fois docteur et homme d’affaires, Stephani multiplia la publicité autour de la station en y vantant notamment son ensoleillement dans la presse nationale et internationale. Alors qu’Antille préférait Crans, Stephani pensait lui que le nom de Montana convenait  davantage avec sa connotation américaine.

Un développement dès les années 1900

Alors que les hôtels et les centres de traitements florissaient un peu partout, l’anglais Sir Henry Lunn entreprit de construire le plus haut parcours de golf au monde en 1908. Contribuant majoritairement à l’histoire de la station, Lunn déclara que l’endroit accueillait « le plus beau parcours de golf alpin ». La famille Lunn continua de développer Crans-Montana, lorsque le fils d’Henry, Arnold Lunn mis en place la première véritable compétition de ski alpin en 1911. L’événement fut baptisé “Coupe Robert de Kandahar” et fut organisé à Plaine-Morte. La même année, un funiculaire reliant Montana et Sierre entra en service, bien que ce nouvel investissement n’empêcha pas les locaux de continuer à faire le chemin à pied.

La construction de bâtiments fut stoppée pendant la guerre de 14-18. Le développement reprit dans les années 20 avec des chalets, centres de traitements et hôtels qui fleurirent un peu partout. Crans-Montana reçut des invités prestigieux tels que Jean Cocteau, l’Opéra de Paris ou la Comédie Française. La crise de 1929 suivie par la Seconde Guerre Mondiale interrompit le développement du Haut Plateau.

Le succès final

Dans les années 50, le rétablissement de la station fut exceptionnel, suivi par un boom dans les années 60, avec de plus en plus d’invités et de succès au rendez-vous. Crans-Montana devint “the place to be”, un lieu de villégature des stars et une destination de luxe.

Un cadre attractif

Pour revenir aux quatre aspects qui menèrent au succès et au développement de la station, les événements sportifs (ski et golf) contribuèrent grandement à l’expansion rapide de la région. Parmi ces événements, la Coupe du Monde de ski 1977, les Masters Européens de golf depuis 1983 suivant l’Open de Suisse organisé depuis 1939, les Championnats du Monde de ski alpin en 1987 et enfin plus récemment, Caprices un festival de musique rock, pop et électro organisé depuis 2004.

Agenda

Omega European Masters

Durant trois jours en septembre, le country club de Crans-sur-Sierre accueille ce tournoi international très prestigieux. Depuis 2009, le Masters européen Omega est le premier tournoi à avoir réuni les trente meilleurs joueurs asiatiques et européens pour un challenge unique. Avec des vues exceptionnelles et une compétition féroce, vous ne serez déçu.

Rallye International du Valais

Se tenant lors de la dernière semaine d’octobre, le Rallye international du Valais fut tout d’abord organisé en 1960 parmi d’autres événements lors d’une foire régionale. Son fondateur Philippe Simonetta l’appela le “Rallye du vin” avec comme but et philosophie de faire découvrir la région et ses vins. L’aspect touristique laissa progressivement la place à un événement purement sportif. Aujourd’hui, la course de 830 km fait partie de nombreux championnats et challenges. Elle est une des courses les plus prestigieuses du monde entier.

Crans-Montana Classics

Un concert de musique classique qui accueille des musiciens de renom du monde entier. Durant un mois, des concerts exceptionnels ainsi que des cours donnés par les plus grands aux plus jeunes connectent la région à la musique classique. Une expérience mémorable, parfaite pour une nuit dehors.

Rip Curl ‘Alive and kickin’

Cet événement est une tournée européenne qui s’arrête à Crans Montana le temps d’une journée. Une excursion en hélicoptère sera offerte au gagnant de la compétition qui est accessible aux débutants et aux expérimentés ainsi qu’aux skis et aux snowboards. Admirez les cascades des participants dans une ambiance de détente, au style très libre.

Festival Caprices

Le Festival Caprices fut fondé en 2004 par cinq fondus de musique bien déterminés à faire connaitre leur région sur la scène musciale internationale. Caprices devint rapidement l’événement musical du printemps à ne pas manquer, avec des artistes de renom et des nouveaux talents venus de toute la Suisse. L’ambiance devient électrique à Crans Montana, et des nuits folle sont à prédire.

A Voir

Parc naturel de Pfyn-Finges

Ce parc naturel abrite une superbe réserve naturelle. Zone protégée depuis 1997, la forêt de Pfyn n’est pas seulement la forêt de pins la plus grande des Alpes mais aussi un des espaces protégés les plus importants de Suisse et lieu de reproduction de nombreuses espèces. La biodiversité y est très variée, notamment celle des oiseaux. Plus de 80 vignobles sont aussi prêts à être visités.

Les gorges de Durnand

Aménagées en 1877 et rénovées en 1987, les gorges de Durnand sont classées parmi les dix plus belles d’Europe. Profitez de la ballade le long des passerelles et des escaliers en bois sur environ 1 kilomètre, avec notamment 14 chutes d’eau. Un spectacle à couper le souffle.

Barrage de la Grande Dixence

Fondé en 1957, le complexe de la Grande Dixence collecte l’eau de 35 glaciers dans la région du Valais. Le barrage est le plus haut barrage-poids du monde qui mesure  285 mètres. La compagnie qui le dirige peut ainsi fournir de l’électricité à la Suisse et l’Europe.

Jardins botaniques de Flore Alpe

Les jardins botaniques de Flore Alpe sont située à une altitude de 1500 mètres dans un magnifique décor. Le long des chemins qui slaloment entre les rochers et des petits ponts qui traversent de superbes points d’eau, allez admirer le panorama du lac Champex et les sommets enneigés des Combins. Trois mille espèces de plantes s’étendent sur plus de six mille mètres carrés.

6 Chalets à Crans Montana

Going somewhere else?

Crans Montana

Crans-Montana is an amazing ski resort which has been attracting a very high end clientele for over a hundred years. The great skiing area comes with a lively village atmosphere, including various sport activities and an amazing nightlife. Finally, six small lakes and beautiful nature are icing on the cake – Crans-Montana has it all.

Introducing

Perched on the Swiss Heights

Crans-Montana is an impressive ski resort located in the heart of the Alps, in south-western Switzerland, overlooking the cantons of Valais and Weisshorn. The two centers of Crans and Montana have fused to create the resort of Crans-Montana, which belongs to six municipalities: Icogne, Mollens, Lens, Chermignon, Randogne, and Montana.

For Sport Lovers

For sport lovers, the skiing area is composed of 140 km of slopes, with Plain-Morte at the highest point (2,927 m). With newly renovated lifts, the neighboring resorts are easily accessed with minimal queuing. Golfing is possible in the summer, on the highest golf course in the world.

Just Relax

For shopping lovers, the resort also provides the best luxury shops in the Alps. If you came to enjoy the food, there is a plethora of options, providing some of the most gourmet tastes and views. Finally, for those who like to party, Crans-Montana hosts many DJs and Après Ski locations alike and you’re bound to find a scene fitting to your style.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text.

History

First a Hotel

Crans-Montana was founded over one hundred years ago and has developed more and more due to four aspects – golf, skiing, health, and hotel business.  In 1893, Sierre hotelier, Louis Antille and Michel Zufferey, opened Hotel du Parc, the area’s first hotel. Due to Antille and Zufferey’s passion, Haut-Plateau, a major tourist destination was created.

Love at First Sight

Théodore Stephani, a Geneva doctor, who had fallen in love with the region decided to bring his patients to the area. He truly loved the beauty and fresh air that Crans-Montana provided. In 1896, Stephani opened the first road for motor vehicles and only three years late he created the first hospital in the area, Beauregard. Both a doctor and businessman, Stephani increased the advertising of Crans-Montana by speaking highly of the sunshine in both national and international press. While Antille praised Crans, Stephani thought that the name Montana was better fitting and preferred its American overtones.

An Early Developed Resort

While hotels and treatment centres continued to sprout around the area, something new and exciting was brewing. Sir Henry Lunn, an Englishman, constructed the highest golf course in the world in 1908. Majorly contributing to the resort’s history, Lunn stated that the area is home to “the most beautiful alpine golf course.” The Lunn family continued the development of Crans-Montana, when Henry’s son, Arnold Lunn put toget the first real alpine ski competition in 1911. The event was called the Roberts of Kandahar Challenge Cup and was hosted at the Plaine-Morte. The same year, a railway started up – linking Montana and Sierre. This new investment didn’t stop many of the locals from doing the trip by foot.

Construction of buildings in the area was put on pause during the 1914-1918 war. Development began again in the 1920s with chalets, treatment centers and hotels that blossomed in the area. Crans-Montana has hosted guests such as Jean Cocteau, André Malraux, the Belgian royal family, Colette, the Paris Opera and the Comédie Française. The 1929 crisis followed by the Second World War caused a long hold on the development of the Haut Plateau.

The Final Success

In the 1950s, the resort’s recovery was outstanding and with a boom in the 1960’s, more guests were welcomed than ever before. Crans-Montana truly became “the place to be” – a place where stars crowded and the people followed.

An Attractive Setting

Relating back to the four aspects that led to the success and development of the resort, sporting events (skiing and golf) greatly contributed to the quick expansion of the area. These events include the 1977 Skiing World Cup, the Golf European Masters (beginning in 1983) following the Swiss Golf Open (organised since 1939), the Alpine Skiing World Championships in 1987, and finally Caprices, a rock, pop, and electro music festival that has been hosted in the resort since 2004.

Things to do

Omega European Masters

During three days in September, the Crans-sur-Sierre Golf Club hosts this very prestigious gold competition. Since 2009, the Omega European Masters has been the first tournament to have been jointly sanctioned by the Asian Tour and the European Tour, giving the 30 best Asian players the opportunity to challenge their European counterparts. Also with extremely breathtaking views and exciting competition, you will not be disappointed whether you come for the sights or the golf.

Valais International Rallye

Taking place in the final week of October, the Rallye International du Valais was first organized in September 1960 as part of a regional fair. His founder Philippe Simonetta called it the ‘Rally of Wine’ with the purpose and philosophy of discovering the region and making the wines. The tourism aspect left place to a pure sporting event. Today, the 830 km race has joined many championships and challenges. It is one of the most prestigious races in the world.

Crans-Montana Classics

A classical music concert with world-renowned musicians. During one month, top concerts and master classes connect the region’s heritage and the best of classical music. A very memorable and luxurious experience, perfect for a night out.

Rip Curl ‘Alive and Kickin’

The event is a European tour that stops in Crans Montana for one day. A helicopter trip reward is offered to the winner of the contest which is accessible to both beginners and experts, on ski and snowboard. Enjoy jumps in a freestyle, relaxed atmosphere.

Caprices Festival

The Caprices Festival was founded in 2004 by five music lovers determined to connect their region to the international music scene. Caprices quickly became the springtime musical event not to be missed, with world-renowned artists and its showcasing of new and upcoming Swiss talent. Crans-Montana’s atmosphere becomes electric and crazy nights are sure to ensue.

Places to see

The Nature Park Pfyn-Finges

The nature park is a beautiful area which includes a natural reserve. Designated as a protected area since 1997, the Pfyn forest is not only one of the largest pine forests in the Alps but it is also home to one of the most significant protected meadowlands in Switzerland and is a spawning ground of national importance. The biodiversity spot has a unique and varied fauna, especially an ornithological diversity. More than 80 wineries can also be enjoyed.

The Gorges of Durnand

Adapted for walking in 1877 and renovated in 1987, the Gorges of Durnand are ranked among the 10 most beautiful in Europe. On the wooden walkways and stairs enjoy the visible part which extends for about 1 kilometre, featuring 14 waterfalls. A breathtaking spectacle.

The Grande Dixence Dam

Founded in 1957, the Grande Dixence complex collects water from 35 glaciers in the Valais region. The dam is the tallest gravity dam in the world which stands 285 metres. The company is able to provide electricity to Switzerland and Europe.

Flore Alpe Botanic Gardens

The Flore-Alpe botanic garden is situated at an altitude of 1,500 meters in a magnificent alpine decor. With paths meandering between the rocks and small bridges overlooking crystal pools of water, go enjoy the panorama of Lake Champex and the snow capped peaks of Les Combins. Three thousand species of plants bloom on the more than six thousand square metres.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text.

6 Chalets in Crans Montana